AMEC Prospector Award

Nominations are now open for the 2018 AMEC Prospector Award. A nomination form can be downloaded below. The award will be presented at the AMEC Awards Dinner on Thursday 6 December 2018 at the State Reception Centre, Kings Park, Western Australia.

Prospector Award Nomination Form
(Microsoft Word Document)

The prestigious AMEC Prospector Award for individual endeavour in the field of mineral exploration was first presented by AMEC in 1993. It is given to the individual/s who made the most outstanding mineral deposit discovery within recent years. The award is made in recognition of the discovery itself, as well as the individual/s that discovered it, rather than the company.

Previous Winners

2016 -  Ian Sandl, Mike Taylor and Ian Mulholland Teena Zinc-Lead Project
2015 -  Ziggy Lubieniecki, Kyle Prentice and Justin Osborne Gruyere Gold Project
2014 -  Allan Kelly and Heath Hellewell Wilber Lode and Andy Well Gold Project
2013 -  Mark Bennett Nova and Bollinger discoveries in Western Australia
2012 -  Brett Keillor and Bruce Kendall Tropicana gold discovery in Western Australia
2011 -  Rodolfo (Rudy) Gomez Carrapateena copper-gold discovery in South Australia
2010 -  Margaret Hawke, John Evans, Graeme Hutton DeGrussa (Doolgunna) Deposit, Western Australia
2009 -  Bill Amann, Adrian Black & Kevin Frost Spotted Quoll Deposit, Western Australia
2008 -  David Brunt, Geoffrey McConachy and Andrea Marsland Smith Mile Uranium Deposit, South Australia
2007 -  Anthony Howland-Rose, Lindsay Newnham and David Deitz Discovery of the Avebury Nickel Deposit and the Tasmanian Nickel Province
2004 -  Geoff Blackburn and Denis O' Meara The Wingina One and Turner River Gold Discoveries
2003 -  Dr Tony Belperio and Derek Carter The Prominent Hill copper/gold discovery
2002 -  Dr Mark Bennett The Thunderbox and Waterloo Discoveries
2000 -  Tony Rovira and Terry Grammer The Cosmos Nickel Deposit
1999 -  Wally Bucknell The Centenary discovery and a number of discoveries around the Plutonic Gold Mine
1998 -  Brett Keillor Plutonic, Indee and Keillor (Marymia district) gold discoveries
1997 -  Jeff Ion Sunrise Dam gold and Nimbus base metal/silver discoveries in Western Australia
1994 -  Bruce Nisbet and Craig Williams Ernest Henry copper-gold discovery in Queensland and the Nimary Bore gold discovery in Western Australia
1993 -  Mark Creasy Bronzewing gold discovery in Western Australia